The Dressed Body

1- Describe the social and moral pressures which affect your choices in dress and those of your family and peers.  What theory/ theories of dress and embodiment would you use to describe how you dress?

I lived all my life in a religious modesty country Saudi Arabia, witch has a completely different culture from the United State. The Saudi Arabia culture based onIslamic religion and public modesty: all women wear “The Abaya” when they go out in public. The Abaya is a garment that look  like a rob to cover the body. However, underneath The Abaya women’s could be wearing anything depending on where they are going.

Sine I came hear to the U.S my wardrobe has changed and my style has changed a little bit. I used to be more fashionable and wear a lot of short dresses I followed all the trend that I thought it fit my body and my personality. However, now that I live hear in the United State I have to adjust and fit within the community that I live in and preserving my religion, culture, and personality at the same time.

Entwisle mentioned Goffman’s work saying “The body is both the property of the individual and the social world: it is the vehicle of identity but this identity has to be managed in terms of the definition of the social situation witch impose particular way of being on the body.”

2- Describe a situation where you dressed inappropriately.  How did this experience affect you? How did the garments you wore feel on your body?

When I went back home to Saudi Arabia for the summer vocation I moved between the cities. However, one time I was visiting my husband’s family I carried only casual clothes. when we got there they told me about a wedding that everyone was invited to and they invited me to go with them. The problem was that I didn’t had an appropriate dress to wear it in the wedding and at the same time I wanted to go and have fun. I was in a small city that doesn’t have evening dresses shop and the only dress a had was a short casual dress.

In Saudi Arabia the appropriate dress for a weddings are evening dress and it usually be long like the red carpet dresses in The Oscar. Anyway, I didn’t care much because I new that no one is going to know me and I wouldn’t know the anyone too, except the people I’m going with. When I got there I felt all the eyes on me like they are thinking who’s the stranger girl.

The experience didn’t effect on me much, maybe because I didn’t care about what people will say about me and I know that what I’m wearing looks good on my even I’f it’s not appropriate for a wedding in addition that  I didn’t know anyone.  I choose to go knowing that what I’m wearing is not inappropriate.

Entwisle pointed at Merlean-Ponty’s analysis about the dress as situated bodily practice. getting dressed lead the body to the situation. People act in particular ways to fit within the certain situation. she said “ the dressed body is not a passive objet.”

3- Describe how you perform your gender.  Consider your dress choices, how you walk and carry your body, what you say, how you attract a partner?

I perform my gender by wearing feminine chic clothes that reflect my personality. I like all colors, usually I choose bright colors and casual for day time and sophisticated chic for night time depend on the occasion that I’m wearing for.

One thing that I can’t live without it are jeans. Nothing can go wrong with jeans, I can wear them with T-shirts, shirts, blouse, and jackets it depend on the time and the occasion. I also like chiffon and silk specially with dresses they are so elegant and feminine.

How I walk and carry my body some time depend on what I’m wearing and who I feel. High heels always give me confident about how I look unlike flats witch considered comfortable, but doesn’t give me the confident that I need.

Before I choose my out fit I always conceder the place I’m going to, the time, and the situation. I even ask my finds or my family bout what are they going to be wearing too, to make sure that my look is suitable. In general, what really effect the look at the end are the attitude and personality, and who you act in public.

Leave a Reply

